Features

CASSELS DELIVER TRIPLE TREAT OF SWEET STOUTS

Tuesday 5 July 2022

Milk Stouts first became popular in England during the 1800s with blue-collar labourers as a nutritious…

Read More
News

Changes brewing at Mean Doses

Wednesday 25 May 2022

There's big changes on the horizon for Wellington's Mean Doses brewery and taproom.

Read More
Travel

Bay of Islands beer

Tuesday 1 March 2022

There is a healthy craft beer scene emerging in the Far North as well as some…

Read More
Opinion

Capital Diary December — Festive Bevvies

Wednesday 12 January 2022

December beer drinking kicked off with the Summerstock festival where 31 Wellington venues each showcased a…

Read More
Opinion

Capital dairy November 2021 – The Return of Beerhunting

Wednesday 8 December 2021

Given the challenges of in-house drinking at alert level 2, much of my November was spent…

Read More
Opinion

Capital Diary – October: The Level 2 Effect

Thursday 11 November 2021

Alert level 2 dinking in Welly this October meant event cancellations continued, while table service created…

Read More
Opinion

Belgian beauties: a dozen classics

Wednesday 13 October 2021

Belgian beers are often called gourmet beers due to their complexity, diversity of flavours and affinity…

Read More
Opinion

Capital dairy – Lockdown yo-yo beer

Friday 8 October 2021

September started as August finished, locked-down and drinking internet beer. The Baylands mixed six pack of…

Read More
Opinion

Beer, interrupted: Capital Diary August 2021

Tuesday 7 September 2021

August was going to be big with the Visa Wellington on a Plate food and drink…

Read More
News

Capital Diary: July 2021

Tuesday 10 August 2021

Neil McInnes gets out and about amongst Wellington's best beer offerings and records it all in…

Read More
Opinion

Capital Diary: Hot Jazz and Hop Dogs

Friday 9 July 2021

In his June Capital Diary, Neil McInnes finds beer matches from the Wellington Jazz Festival to…

Read More
Opinion

Capital Diary: what’s happening around Wellington

Tuesday 8 June 2021

Read More