Recommended

Bringing you news, reviews, features, opinions and travel writing from around the country.

More about our writers
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: Burkes Unforgiven Porter

Sunday 11 June 2023

When a recently awarded beer turns up again at another competition it’s always good news.  Indicative…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: Baylands Skull Cracker

Saturday 10 June 2023

‘West Coast’, ‘Double’ and ‘IPA’ are some words that you could arrange in almost any order…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: 8 Wired Baltic Smoke

Friday 9 June 2023

Ever since coming up with the venerable iStout over a decade ago, 8 Wired have always…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: Sprig + Fern Norty Porter

Thursday 8 June 2023

This would seem to be the week where winter has decided to really put the boot…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: Ruapehu Brewing Unlimited Vis

Wednesday 7 June 2023

Ruapehu Brewing are another new face on the New World Beer & Cider Awards Top 30…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: Urbanaut Bronx Mosaic Double IPA

Tuesday 6 June 2023

Continuing their tear through the hop-driven beer categories at the New World Beer & Ciders Awards…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: Deep Creek Aloha

Monday 5 June 2023

Fruited sours live or die by how well they capture the character of said fruit additions,…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: Steinlager Pure

Sunday 4 June 2023

I think there’s very few fresh takes to make on any beer with ‘Steinlager’ in the…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: Otago Brew School Klassenbester

Saturday 3 June 2023

‘Klassenbester’ translates roughly to ‘best in class’, and that could not be a more apt name…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: McLeod’s Paradise Pale Ale

Friday 2 June 2023

After the better part of a decade on the market and a steady string of awards,…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: Urbanaut Newtown Hazy Pale Ale

Thursday 1 June 2023

Urbanaut Newtown is the second hazy from this brewery on the New World Beer & Cider…

Read More
Recommended

NWBCA Reviews: Tiger Crystal Ultra

Wednesday 31 May 2023

Tiger Crystal Ultra is not a craft-positioned beer.  Even the name sounds like something I would…

Read More