Travel

Bringing you news, reviews, features, opinions and travel writing from around the country.

More about our writers
Cover StoryTravel

Mr Goodbar — Matakana

Thursday 13 June 2024

Funny that urge you sometimes get to head out of town for an interesting beer. And,…

Read More
Travel

The Beer Project — Shining Peak

Tuesday 21 May 2024

I arrive at Shining Peak on a hot, sunny Taranaki morning in January. New Plymouth has…

Read More
Travel

Altitude Brewing’s Year of Growth & Change

Friday 22 December 2023

On Queenstown’s picturesque Frankton Marina, you’ll find beer institution Altitude Brewing. It’s been a cracker of…

Read More
Travel

Whangamatā’s First Craft Brewery — Salt District

Monday 18 December 2023

Whangamatā is a sleepy, bach-filled surfer’s paradise on the Coromandel Peninsula that comes to life in…

Read More
Travel

Hop Federation Settle in to New Digs

Tuesday 12 December 2023

The irony is not lost on Simon Nicholas — the day we’ve pencilled in for a…

Read More
Travel

Reckless By Name, Not By Nature

Monday 25 September 2023

For a small regional city, Bathurst has a big name. Located some three hours west of…

Read More
Travel

Shining Peak Shining a Light on Local History

Friday 9 June 2023

Putting excellent beer into cans is one thing, but for Shining Peak founder Jesse Sigurdsson the…

Read More
Travel

Botany’s Beer Bounty

Wednesday 7 June 2023

There’s something uniquely appealing about Botany and its breweries. It isn’t home to Sydney’s highest concentration…

Read More
Travel

Ruapehu Brewing: Snow business like beer business

Tuesday 6 June 2023

Austin Hobson was born to be a brewer, his Belgian mother and home-brewing English father setting…

Read More
Travel

4 Mates Bring Elusive Quality to Invercargill

Wednesday 15 March 2023

I don’t travel as much on business as I used to, and so rarely get to…

Read More
Travel

Around the North Island in 87 Pints

Tuesday 7 February 2023

John Lovegrove tries to visit every North Island Brewery in a month.

Read More
Travel

The Island in the sun

Wednesday 14 December 2022

The Island is set to be Bay of Plenty’s hottest beer spot this summer, spearheaded by…

Read More