Features

Bringing you news, reviews, features, opinions and travel writing from around the country.

More about our writers
Features

Glory To Desperate Glory — NWBCA Supreme Winner

Friday 24 May 2024

Desperate Glory, this year’s Supreme Winner at the New World Beer & Cider Awards is a…

Read More
Features

Head To Head: Hazzy Hunter Vs Laughing Bones

Wednesday 15 May 2024

In the first of a new series, Joshua Lee aka Hazzy Hunter goes head-to-head with John…

Read More
Features

Twofold Sure To Draw Beer Fans to Parnell

Thursday 25 April 2024

Twofold — one of Auckland’s most anticipated new brewpubs — opened its door this week, bringing…

Read More
Features

Craft Beer Version 3.0 — What’s The Future

Wednesday 17 April 2024

I was in my local coffee spot buying beans when a friend stopped to say gidday.…

Read More
Features

The Beer Project Summer Roadie

Monday 15 April 2024

The Beer Project was conceived in July 2009 as a two-year project to document the 50-odd…

Read More
Features

Double Vision’s Fresh Hop Triple Treat

Monday 8 April 2024

Double Vision Brewing are taking fresh hop season to a new level, with a triple treat…

Read More
Features

Thief Brewing Steal the Show

Tuesday 2 April 2024

My recent visit to Thief Brewing could hardly be called travel, situated practically on my doorstep…

Read More
Features

Profile: Tuatara Head Brewer Paul Roigard

Monday 25 March 2024

Paul Roigard should really brew a Radler — the Tuatara head-brewer is a mad keen cyclist…

Read More
Features

Saint Leonard’s Bring Fresh Attitude

Tuesday 19 March 2024

“We’re not really brewers.” I’ve come to Saint Leonards Brewing Co in Kingsland to speak to…

Read More
Features

First Look: Turtle Pizza & Pints

Monday 18 March 2024

The brewing company with the big name just got a bit bigger. Behemoth has opened a…

Read More
Features

Lion Celebrates a Century

Friday 8 March 2024

Lion NZ is celebrating 100 years in business and the irony is: the reasons behind Lion’s…

Read More
Features

Bean Bag Brewery Dreaming Big

Thursday 11 January 2024

Picture this: It’s a Tuesday night, I’ve just walked in the door after a big day…

Read More