Opinion

Bringing you news, reviews, features, opinions and travel writing from around the country.

Get Hoppiness at Home
Opinion

Belgian beauties: a dozen classics

Wednesday 13 October 2021

Belgian beers are often called gourmet beers due to their complexity, diversity of flavours and affinity…

Read More
Opinion

Capital dairy – Lockdown yo-yo beer

Friday 8 October 2021

September started as August finished, locked-down and drinking internet beer. The Baylands mixed six pack of…

Read More
Opinion

Haiku beer reviews

Thursday 7 October 2021

Stephen Gallagher applies the haiku format to beer reviews   Volstead Mr Ombibulous IPA Ombibulous is…

Read More
Opinion

Beer, interrupted: Capital Diary August 2021

Tuesday 7 September 2021

August was going to be big with the Visa Wellington on a Plate food and drink…

Read More
Opinion

Stout and About

Thursday 2 September 2021

Philip Walter is captivated by the sheer diversity of stouts on offer in New Zealand. As…

Read More
Opinion

Double Dose of Local

Saturday 21 August 2021

Read More
Opinion

Climbing The Beer Ladder

Friday 20 August 2021

Philip Walter climbs the ladder of flavour with a beer tasting flight featuring an imperial saison,…

Read More
Opinion

Where are all the women in the beer industry?

Monday 16 August 2021

Kathleen Kuehn takes a deep dive into the lack diversity in the beer industry, and suggests…

Read More
Opinion

“I have to be brave, otherwise nothing will change”

Monday 16 August 2021

Stories of predatory behaviour in the beer industry shouldn’t remain as whispers. It is time for…

Read More
Opinion

Before Beervana: Where to brunch

Friday 6 August 2021

Read More
Opinion

Fade to Black: Can Pastry Stouts Save Dark Beer?

Thursday 29 July 2021

Read More
Opinion

East Or West, Hazy or Clear?

Sunday 18 July 2021

Read More

Get Hoppiness AT Home

New Zealand’s only dedicated craft beer magazine delivered to your door every two months for just $45 a year. Full of features on your favourite breweries, news, reviews and beer-related travel stories.