Opinion

Bringing you news, reviews, features, opinions and travel writing from around the country.

More about our writers
Opinion

A First XI of NZIPA

Wednesday 21 June 2023

When I set out to write this piece ahead of the annual Smith’s NZ IPA Challenge,…

Read More
Opinion

I Guess I Like Lager Now

Tuesday 20 June 2023

Something very strange happened to me recently — I started drinking lager. This might not sound…

Read More
Opinion

Big Breweries Make Awards Splash

Wednesday 14 June 2023

In March of this year, just as the hop harvest was beginning, the judging for the…

Read More
Opinion

Rex Attitude The King Of Divisive Beers

Friday 2 June 2023

It’s two hours since I finished a glass of Yeastie Boys’ Rex Attitude and my mouth…

Read More
Opinion

Dusty’s Pick of the Fresh hops

Tuesday 30 May 2023

Photographer, beer-lover and Instagram influencer Dusty, picks his highlights from the 2023 Fresh Hop season.

Read More
Opinion

Haiku Beer Vol 7

Wednesday 29 March 2023

Stephen Gallagher brings his poetic licence to beer reviews in the form of haiku. Change Maker…

Read More
Opinion

Style Corner — Witbier

Wednesday 29 March 2023

Witbier has been quenching thirsts and pleasing palates for the better part of half a millennium.…

Read More
Opinion

The Pick of the Fresh Hop Bunch

Wednesday 22 March 2023

Fresh hop beer, at its best, is lightning in a bottle.  A verdant, synesthetic aurora of…

Read More
Opinion

Should you invest in Parrotdog?

Thursday 23 February 2023

If you’ve got a spare $1000 lying around should you invest in Parrotdog?

Read More
Opinion

New Beer Year Resolutions

Tuesday 31 January 2023

Tim Newman has some New Year beer resolutions of his own, and some he'd like others…

Read More
Opinion

Pucker up Sour Puss

Tuesday 17 January 2023

Phil Walter tries to navigate the huge variety of sour beers, from traditional to modern fruited…

Read More
Opinion

Are You Pouring Your Beer Wrong?

Friday 9 December 2022

Are you pouring your beer the wrong way? I trial a slow-pour pilsner to see if…

Read More