Features

Bringing you news, reviews, features, opinions and travel writing from around the country.

More about our writers
Features

Laughing Bones Putting a Flag on the Mountain

Wednesday 9 August 2023

When Laughing Bones founder John Morawski first read about Mountain IPA he decided to explore. Little…

Read More
Features

How To Match Beer and Chocolate

Wednesday 2 August 2023

Beer and chocolate are two of humanity’s greatest creations, so it’s no surprise that tasting them…

Read More
Features

Mount Brewing Coming Of Age

Monday 31 July 2023

Mount Brewing made a dream debut in The Malthouse West Coast IPA Challenge winning the Golden…

Read More
Features

The CO2 Crisis Six Months On

Tuesday 25 July 2023

In case you missed it, the country has been dealing with a CO2 shortage for much…

Read More
Features

10 To Try For Dry July

Friday 30 June 2023

My first Dry July, I survived on lime and soda for my fix of fizz. I’ve…

Read More
Features

Friends With Taplists

Wednesday 28 June 2023

It’s not a proven fact but there’s every chance that Finch Street, in the Auckland suburb…

Read More
Features

Double Vision’s Schwarzenegger Inspiration

Tuesday 13 June 2023

The thing with looking effortless is that it usually requires a lot of work. At Double…

Read More
Features

Otago Brew School Best In Class

Monday 12 June 2023

When you call a beer Klassenbester — or best in class — it helps if it…

Read More
Features

Martinborough Brewing’s Bright Future

Thursday 8 June 2023

Brewer Eugene Black and his partner Olivia Ryan had just landed back in New Zealand after…

Read More
Features

Three Sisters Rye Twist On Classic Beer

Friday 2 June 2023

Joe Emans hopes Rumours In The Dark starts a beer revolution — a move away from…

Read More
Features

Unlocking hop flavours

Tuesday 30 May 2023

In March Garage Project and Hāpi Research held the second Hāpi Symposium, the first since 2019…

Read More
Features

Tasting Notes for NWBCA TOP 30

Monday 22 May 2023

The ninth annual New World Beer & Cider Awards were announced today, with the Top-30 featuring…

Read More